Risk Vs. Reward

“Life shrinks, and life expands in direct proportion to your willingness to assume risk” – Casey Neistat

One of the scariest things in life is risk. For me, its the uncertainty of the payoff, if this decision will be a huge failure, what will I lose in the process?… The worry can go on for what feels like an eternity.
We have all taken risks, on some level, our whole lives. When you were a kid tasting snails, when you were in high school asking that guy/girl out on a date, quitting your job, quitting uni, buying that car/house that is too old/expensive/big. I know you can think of one risk that you have taken this year. Now think “Has it worked out?”. Granted, it may not have produced the exact result you were hoping for, but there has been a positive from it, right?

So what makes taking a risk so damn hard? The people I care about the most have all, at some stage, advised against certain things in my life. When I was younger, I would listen to this and consequently abandon dreams/hopes/goals because I was now scared of the risk. I have passed up on some big opportunities in my life because of this.

As I have grown, and taken risks outside of the safety net of family and friends, I have learnt that the greater the risk, the greater the payout. This is a fueling motivator for me when I am dreaming of great things to come in my life. Some of the greatest people of the decades have become influential household names, from taking risks. Note; Steve Jobs (Apple, Pixar, and NeXT), Malcolm X, Mark Zuckerberg (Facebook), Rosa Parkes, Malala Yousafzaijh… the list can go on

You only have a small amount of time to really pursue the things you care about. The right time is always right now.

“The most dangerous thing you can do in your career, the most dangerous thing you can do in life, is to play it safe” – Casey Neistat

Leave a Reply

